Yngwie Malmsteen drops bluesy “Sun’s Up Top’s Down”

Off his upcoming album, ‘Blues Lightning.’

Yngwie Malmsteen has released “Sun’s Up Top’s Down,” off his upcoming album Blue Lightning.

The guitarist’s new track features a strong blues influence, swapping his signature fiery chops for groovy riffs over an infectious drum arrangement. “Sun’s Up Top’s Down” is the first song off single from Blue Lightning, which comprises eight covers of iconic rock hits, including Hendrix’s “Purple Haze”, Deep Purple’s “Smoke on the Water” and The Beatles’ “While My Guitar Gently Weeps.” The record also features four original tunes.

Stream “Sun’s Up Top’s Downbelow:


And check out the full tracklist of Blue Lightning:

  1. “Blue Lightning”
  2. “Foxey Lady”
  3. “Demon’s Eye”
  4. “1911 Strut”
  5. “Blue Jean Blues”
  6. “Purple Haze”
  7. “While My Guitar Gently Weeps”
  8. “Sun’s Up Top’s Down”
  9. “Peace, Please”
  10. “Paint It Black”
  11. “Smoke On The Water”
  12. “Forever Man”

Don't miss