Bruce Springsteen releases the full No Nukes 1979 recordings

The E Street Band’s complete sets at The Garden will be released for the first time.

Bruce Springsteen has added live recordings of the E Street band’s famed No Nukes 1979 concerts to his ongoing archive series.

This 23-track album captures the full breadth of Springsteen’s legendary performances at New York’s Madison Square Garden on September 21 and 22 1979. This is the first time fans can relive both shows in full, rather than sifting through selected tracks available only on the No Nukes concert film (1980) and the No Nukes: The Muse Concerts For a Non-Nuclear Future triple album (1979).

There are a couple of gems on the recordings. The September 21 show saw Springsteen debut “The River,” a tune that marked his lyrical maturity and transition towards the politically-charged Born in the USA. Other highlights include two E Street Band covers of Maurice Williams and the Zodiacs’ “Stay”: The band were joined by No Nukes co-founder Jackson Browne and Rosemary Butler on the September 21 rendition, while Tom Petty featured on the September 22 version.

The No Nukes 1979 concert recordings cap off a busy December for Springsteen, who recently released his Roxy 1975 live album and the Springsteen on Broadway soundtrack album.

The complete No Nukes 1979 concerts are available for purchase on different platforms here.

Don't miss