Bruce Springsteen drops title track of new album ‘Letter to You’

The first LP to feature new recordings with the E Street Band since 2014.

Bruce Springsteen has released “Letter to You,” the title track of his new album with the E Street Band.

Springsteen’s new track arrived coupled with a black and white video collecting stills and video snippets taken from his time recording Letter to You. The new single will be one of nine tracks on The Boss’ new LP, alongside updated recordings of unreleased material from the ’70s like “Janey Needs a Shooter,” “If I Was the Priest”, and “Song For Orphans.” The old compositions were written prior to the release of Springsteen’s 1973 debut LP Greetings from Asbury Park, NJ.

“I love the emotional nature of Letter to You,” Springsteen revealed in a statement. “And I love the sound of the E Street Band playing completely live in the studio, in a way we’ve never done before, and with no overdubs. We made the album in only five days, and it turned out to be one of the greatest recording experiences I’ve ever had.”


It was only just last year that Springsteen released Western Stars, his 19th studio album that included the songs “Hello Sunshine,” “There Goes My Miracle” and “Tucson Train.” The rock veteran recorded Western Stars solo, playing all instruments across the 13-track release. Prior to that, the E Street Band’s last studio album of newly written songs with Springsteen was 2014’s High Hopes.

Letter to You will be released on October 23 via Columbia Records. Listen to the title track below:

Don't miss