Bob Dylan releases new album, ‘Rough and Rowdy Ways’

Hear the icon’s follow-up to 2012’s ‘Tempest.’

The one and only Bob Dylan has released Rough and Rowdy Ways, his 39th studio album and his first collection of original material in eight years.

The last collection of Dylan-penned compositions was 2012’s Tempest, but the singer-songwriter spent the interim touring and released a trilogy of cover albums that covered Frank Sinatra’s oeuvre (Shadows in the Night) and the Great American Songbook (Fallen Angels and Triplicate).

Dylan heralded his return with the singles “Murder Most Foul” and “I Contain Multitudes.” The latter was written almost in a trance, he told the New York Times in a rare interview. “It’s the kind of thing where you pile up stream-of-consciousness verses and then leave it alone and come pull things out,” Dylan said. “It’s one of those where you write it on instinct. Kind of in a trance state. Most of my recent songs are like that.”

Notable artists that helped record Rough and Rowdy Ways were Fiona Apple and Blake Mills, though their exact contributions are unknown, Pitchfork reported.


Listen to Rough and Rowdy Ways here:


Don't miss

Can’t get enough?

Get's top stories delivered straight to your inbox. No nonsense, all substance. 💪💪