AC/DC return with new song “Shot in the Dark”

The iconic rockers have announced their 17th studio album, ‘Power Up.’

AC/DC are back: The rock veterans have announced their 17th studio album Power Up with the release of its lead single, “Shot in the Dark.”

Power Up will be the band’s first album since 2014’s Rock or Bust. The tour behind that album spanned the most of 2015 and 2016, and notably saw the band temporarily replace vocalist Brian Johnson, who began to suffer from hearing loss, with Guns N’ Roses singer Axl Rose.

“Shot in the Dark” marks Johnson’s return to the band, making the current AC/DC line-up Angus Young (guitar), Stevie Young (guitar), Cliff Williams (bass) and Phil Rudd (drums). For the new album, they reunited with producer Brendon O’Brien, who helmed their previous two albums, Rock or Bust and 2008’s Black Ice.


“It’s a strong single from a powerful rock album. You’ll be able to hear it and know straight away that it’s AC/DC,” Young told NME. “We got together in 2018 and we worked on a lot of ideas that Malcolm and me had done through the years. There were AC/DC tracks we’d never got the chance to work on and it was just great that everyone wanted to be a part of it. We’ve managed to get back what the world has known as AC/DC since 1980 when Bon Scott passed away.”

Power Up will arrive on November 20. Listen to “Shot in the Dark” now:

Don't miss