The Internet drop fourth studio album, ‘Hive Mind’

    After three years of waiting, we’re privy to the Odd Future band’s smooth new record.

    Syd The Internet Roll
    Syd, Odd Future member and vocalist of The Internet. Image: Venla Shalin / Redferns

    After dropping their 2015 Grammy-nominated record Ego Death, members of The Internet went on to work on their own solo projects, so we’ve had to wait three long years for the follow-up. The good news is: That album is finally here. And it’s worth every second of the wait.

    Hive Mind is a 13-track record that perfectly encapsulates the band’s late-night grooviness. The album opens with “Come Together,” a brooding track that grapples with themes of divisiveness and uncertainty. “I can’t be sure / Ah, anymore / Today or tomorrow / What we’ve come to / What we’ve come to,” lead vocalist Syd sings. And then, like a retort, the chorus kicks in, with the band’s individual voices coming together on the refrain, “They gon’ get us to come together.”

    Things take a lighter turn deeper into the record. “Stay the Night” is a bossa nova-inspired track that focuses on a simple melody and Syd’s soft and velvety musings. The whole song is basically pillow talk, but it’s never in your face. Take notes, Zayn.

    Hive Mind is a complete album with a great narrative, the likes of which are in short supply these days. Rather than spotlighting Syd and lead guitarist Steve Lacy, this record truly sees the band as a collective. A hive mind, if you will.

    Listen to the record for yourself: