serpentwithfeet announces new album with “Fellowship”

‘DEACON’ arrives in March.

serpentwithfeet has announced his sophomore album DEACON with its first single, “Fellowship.”

The Brooklyn singer born Josiah Wise penned and produced the song with Sampha and Lil Silva. On Instagram, he described “Fellowship” as an ode “to anyone who’s had a good friend or been a good friend.” “Maybe it’s the blessing of my 30s / I’m spending less time worrying and more time recounting the love,” he croons over a soothing Afrobeat-inspired melody.

DEACON is the follow-up to serpentwithfeet’s 2018 debut soil and was recorded after the singer moved to Los Angeles. “​I originally approached this project wanting to make something that felt very sensuous,” he explained. “Something a lot softer, a lot more gentle than my previous work.”


Arriving on March 26 via Secretly Canadian, DEACON will feature 11 tracks, including a collaboration with Nao titled “Heart Storm.” Earlier this month, serpentwithfeet teamed up with Off-White fashion mogul Virgil Abloh for the song “Delicate Limbs.”

“Fellowship” dropped alongside a dreamy video of the singer frolicking on the beach with his partner. Watch it here:

Don't miss