Jessie Reyez releases ‘Before Love Came to Kill Us’

Eminem and 6LACK feature on her debut album.

Jessie Reyez has released her debut album, Before Love Came to Kill Us.

The 14-track record has been a long time coming: It’s been four years since the Toronto singer’s breakout single, “Figures” (which closes out the new LP), and three years since her first project, the Kiddo EP.

Also on the new record are previously released tracks “Ankles,” “Love in the Dark” and “Imported” featuring 6LACK. The only other featured artist on Before Love Came to Kill Us is Eminem, who spits a verse on “Coffin.” Reyez had previously featured on two tracks off Em’s 2018 album Kamikaze.


Speaking to Noisey, Reyez recently reflected on her musical progression from Kiddo to 2018 EP Being Human in Public and her debut studio album. “I was still in pain during [Kill Us], but I was healing a wound,” she said. “Kiddo and Being Human in Public were like I just got stabbed, but this album is me stitching up the wound. It’s bleeding, but it’s stitched.”

Stream Before Love Came to Kill Us here:

Don't miss