Charli XCX’s new album ‘Charli’ is finally out

Featuring Troye Sivan, Lizzo, Christine and the Queens and more.

Charli XCX has finally released her highly anticipated third album, Charli.

The roll-out for the record has been immense: Charli shared seven tracks ahead of its release, along with ambitious, high-octane videos for “1999” (featuring Troye Sivan), “Gone” (featuring Christine and the Queens) and “Blame it On Your Love” (featuring Lizzo).

The 27-year old English singer-songwriter has been building on her stylistic evolution for a while now. It began with her 2016 EP Vroom Vroom, and was further refined on 2017 mixtapes Number 1 Angel and Pop 2. Charli is in some ways the culmination of her vision.


On “Silver Cross,” Charli executive producer AG Cook employs spiralling synths and Charli’s chopped Auto-Tuned vocals to create a suffocating and intense atmosphere. “I’ll pull you close, so close, so close / I’ll never let you go, you know / Head on my chest, a silver cross / You can cry all night, I’ll never let you go,” she sings.

The ballad “I Don’t Wanna Know” supplies a much needed breather in the crowded tracklist, while “Official” is a reflection on a blossoming romance that isn’t quite “official” yet. “Look at us, isn’t it obvious? / Is it so dangerous? Is it so complicated? / You know the shapes my body makes / Under the sheets at 4AM with you,” Charli sings.

The record also includes “Warm” featuring Haim and the Sky Ferreira-assisted “Cross You Out.” She also found the time to contribute non-album track “Miss U” to the soundtrack of Netflix’s 13 Reasons Why.


Stream Charli in full here:

Don't miss