Tombs drop pulverizing new track, “The Dark Rift”

    ‘Monarchy of Shadows’ comes out next month.

    Tombs Monarchy of Shadows new EP
    Image: Tombs official Bandcamp

    Brooklyn metal outfit Tombs have released an intense new song titled “The Dark Rift.”

    The pulverizing song, which features ferocious riffs and frontman Mike Hill’s menacing vocals, is the opening track from the band’s forthcoming EP, Monarchy of Shadows. The project will mark the official debut of Tombs’ new lineup, featuring guitarist Matt Medeiros, drummer Justin Spaeth and bassist Drew Murphy.

    “For the first time in the history of Tombs there has been a collaboration between band members,’ Hill said in a previous statement. “It’s not just me writing everything. It’s a big difference from [2017’s] The Grand Annihilation which was basically a solo record.”

    Monarchy of Shadows, which also features the previously released title track, arrives February 28 via Season of Mist. Listen to “The Dark Rift” here: