The Acacia Strain announce new album with fifth EP of 2020

‘Slow Decay’ is on the way.

The Acacia Strain have released a two-track EP titled Y, their fifth such release of 2020. It features “One Thousand Painful Stings,” featuring Spiritbox vocalist and former Iwrestledabearonce member Courtney LaPlante, and the track “Earth Will Become Death.”

With this latest release, the deathcore band complete a run of 2020 EPs whose single-letter titles spell out the word ‘DECAY.’ As a final flourish, they’ve also announced their new album, Slow Decay, which will be out next month.

The record, which is the follow-up to The Acacia Strain’s 2019 album It Comes in Waves, will also feature previously released collaborations with Zach Hatfield of Left Behind, Jess Nyx of Mortality Rate and Aaron Heard of Nothing and Jesus Piece. There will also be two additional tracks that fans have yet to hear.


“You’re getting the vision piece by piece,” vocalist Vincent Bennett said of the album’s piecemeal rollout. “The whole theme is a slow dive. By the same token, it organically becomes one record instead of just one big push out of the gate. As soon as you think you’re getting the hang of it, we throw out a wrench with the full-length.”

As for the record’s themes, he said, “There’s no evidence to suggest we aren’t actually in a living hell. The things happening around us could be out of a comic book or a movie. The idea is, ‘This can’t be real.’ Maybe something happened. Maybe we’re all dead and we don’t even know it. Maybe we’re just living in some augmented reality hellscape of actual planet Earth.”

Slow Decay is out July 24 via Rise Records. Stream the Y EP below:


Don't miss