Sunn O))) announce ‘Pyroclasts,’ their second album of 2019

Preview the follow-up to ‘Life Metal’ now.

Sunn O))) have officially announced Pyroclasts, their second album of 2019.

It’s the follow-up to Life Metal, released in April, and was also recorded with Steve Albini at his Electrical Audio studio in Chicago. Like its predecessor, Pyroclasts is four songs long.

“The Pyroclasts album is the result of a daily practice which was regularly performed each morning or evening during the two-week Life Metal sessions at Electrical Audio during July 2018,” the band explained on Facebook, “when all of the day’s musical participants would gather and work through a 12-minute improvised modal drone at the start and or end of the day’s work.”


“It was an exercise and a chance to dig into a deep opening or closing of the day’s session in a deep musical way with all of the participants. To connect/reconnect, liberate the creative mind a bit and greet each other and the space through the practice of sound immersion.”

As Pitchfork reports, the record is dedicated to the memories of Ron Guardipee, Kerstin Daley and pop experimentalist Scott Walker, who collaborated with the drone band on the 2014 joint album, Soused.

Preview Pyroclasts before its October 25 release date with the two-minute snippet below:


Don't miss