Nine Inch Nails surprise-release two new instrumental albums

‘Ghosts V: Together’ and ‘Ghosts VI: Locusts’ are out now.

Nine Inch Nails have surprised fans with not one but two new albums: Ghosts V: Together and Ghosts VI: Locusts, both of which are available to download for free.

The two instrumental albums arrive 12 years after Ghosts I-IV, which was NIN’s first independent release following their split from Interscope in 2007.

The records arrived accompanied by a message from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross of Nine Inch Nails on the band’s official website.


They wrote, “As the news seems to turn ever more grim by the hour, we’ve found ourselves vacillating wildly between feeling like there may be hope at times to utter despair—often changing minute to minute. Although each of us define ourselves as antisocial-types who prefer being on our own, this situation has really made us appreciate the power and need for connection.

“Music—whether listening to it, thinking about it or creating it—has always been the thing that helped us get through anything—good or bad. With that in mind, we decided to burn the midnight oil and complete these new Ghosts records as a means of staying somewhat sane.”

Reznor and Ross described Ghosts V as a record “for when things seem like it might all be okay.” Ghosts VI, on the other hand, “… well, you’ll figure it out.”


Download the new Nine Inch Nails albums for free here, or stream them both below.

Ghosts V: Together:

Ghosts VI: Locusts:

Don't miss