Mr Bungle re-record decades-old demo for first new album in 21 years

Assisted by Scott Ian and Dave Lombardo.

After whetting fans’ appetites with their cover of The Exploited’s “USA,” Mr Bungle have announced their first new album in 21 years: The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo.

The release is a re-recorded version of the band’s 1986 cassette-only demo, but will also include two covers: SOD’s “Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere” and Corrosion of Conformity’s “Loss for Words.” Mr Bungle’s three original members Trevor Dunn, Mike Patton and Trey Spruance will be joined by Scott Ian (of Anthrax and SOD) and Dave Lombardo (Dead Cross, Slayer and Suicidal Tendencies).

In a statement, Patton described working with Ian and Lombardo as “an enormous head-rush of virtuosity and surprises every day in the studio.” He added, “There is nothing sweeter than getting your ass kicked by true comrades… where everyone has a singular drive and mission.”

“Recording this record felt like we were finally utilising our PhDs in Thrash Metal,” Dunn said. “All we had to do was go back to our original professors for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students. We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we’d given up on back in the day.


“It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn’t given its due respect. Now we can die.”

The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo will be released October 30. Hear the album’s thrashy first preview, “Raping Your Mind,” below:


Don't miss