Metallica to release ‘Helping Hands’ vinyl album for charity

Featuring acoustic numbers recorded live at the band’s inaugural benefit concert.

Fans of Metallica will have extra cheer this festive season. To commemorate Giving Tuesday, the band announced a limited-edition album on vinyl in support of their All Within My Hands (AWMH) Foundation.

Titled Helping Hands…Live & Acoustic at The Masonic, the album comprises live recordings of acoustic performances from the group’s Helping Hands benefit concert, held in San Francisco on November 3.

The 12-track double LP features stripped-down versions of Metallica classics, including a rare, unplugged version of “The Unforgiven.” It also includes several acoustic covers of hits like Deep Purple’s “When a Blind Man Cries,” Nazareth’s “Please Don’t Judas Me” and Bob Seger’s “Turn the Page.”


All album proceeds will go to the AWMH foundation, which Metallica launched last February. The organization aims to “assist and enrich the lives of members of the communities who have supported the band for years, as well as encourage participation from fans and friends,” according to its website.

Helping Hands…Live & Acoustic at The Masonic is out February 1, but you can pre-order a copy here.

Here’s the full tracklist:


Disc One / Side A

1. “Disposable Heroes”
2. “When a Blind Man Cries”
3. “The Unforgiven”

Disc One / Side B

1. “Please Don’t Judas Me”
2. “Turn the Page”

Disc Two / Side C

1. “Bleeding Me”
2. “Veteran of the Psychic Wars”
3. “Nothing Else Matters”

Disc Two / Side D

1. “All Within My Hands”
2. “Enter Sandman”
3. “The Four Horsemen”
4. “Hardwired”

In the meantime, check out the acoustic version of “Unforgiven” from the benefit gig here:

Don't miss