Mayhem releases first album in five years, ‘Daemon’

Their last full-length, ‘Esoteric Warfare,’ arrived in 2014.

Norwegian black metal pioneers Mayhem have returned with Daemon, their long-awaited sixth studio album.

The band previewed the ten-track record with three singles, “Worthless Abominations Destroyed,” “Of Worms and Ruins” and “Falsified & Hated.” The record’s deluxe edition also includes two bonus tracks, “Everlasting Dying Flame” and “Black Glass Communion,” written by the band’s two guitarists Teloch and Ghul, respectively.

Daemon isn’t a direct follow-up to [2014’s] Esoteric Warfare,” the band shared in a statement. “Like all Mayhem albums of their time, Daemon is unto itself. The wolf solitary and singular. Indeed, Daemon also isn’t a new chapter in our storied career. Rather, it’s a new tome, authoritative yet wild in character.”


Stream Daemon below:

Don't miss