Lamb of God release new self-titled album

Their first record without founding drummer Chris Adler.

Lamb of God have released their new eponymous album, their first record without founding drummer Chris Adler, who left the band in July 2019.

The band—including new drummer Art Cruz—previewed the record with a number of singles, including “Checkmate,” “Memento Mori” and “New Colossal Hate.” Testament’s Chuck Billy and Hatebreed’s Jamey Jasta feature on the album.

“Instead of writing an album about the current times and our administration and our American political system, which is still crazy, I started thinking in a more global view, how did we get here?” singer Randy Blythe told Forbes of Lamb of God.


“One of the largest problems I see in our society today—and this pandemic is making it incredibly, incredibly apparent—is the glorification of material goods and wealth as status symbols, and the illusion that these things are going to provide you some sense of internal wellbeing or even happiness.”

That might seem like an ambitious topic to some, but Lamb of God have experience when it comes to tackling gargantuan narratives on their albums. Their last LP, 2015’s VII: Sturm und Drang, focused on Blythe’s trial, temporary imprisonment and ensuing acquittal following the death of a fan at a 2010 Lamb of God show in the Czech Republic.

Listen to Lamb of God here:


Don't miss