Deafheaven celebrate tenth anniversary with live album, ‘10 Years Gone’

In place of their now-postponed anniversary tour.

Deafheaven have marked their tenth anniversary with the release of 10 Years Gone, a live album featuring the set they would have performed on a commemorative tour that was delayed by the pandemic.

The blackgaze band announced the record in October with the release of a live version of “Daedalus,” the first song they ever wrote. The sprawling album features material that spans the entirety of their prolific career, from fan favorites such as “From the Kettle onto the Coil” to “Glint” off their 2018 album Ordinary Corrupt Human Love. Frontman George Clarke’s primal, shrieking delivery pierces through sublime guitar arrangements by Shiv Mehra and Kerry McCoy, carried by Chris Johnson’s rhythmic bass and Daniel Tracy’s hard-hitting drums.

“I’m thankful we were able to give songs like ‘Daedalus,’ the first we wrote, and other favorites like ‘Vertigo’ and ‘Kettle’ new power after so many years of playing them,” Clarke said in a statement. “They made me think of the people who played on them with us. For the first time we’ve included information on who played on what tracks and when they were originally released.”


Listen to 10 Years Gone below:

Don't miss