Architects unveil new album, ‘For Those That Wish to Exist’

It includes collaborations with members of Parkway Drive, Royal Blood and Biffy Clyro.

Architects have unleashed their ninth studio album, For Those That Wish to Exist.

The British outfit’s growth is immediately evident from the outset of the record, which is the follow-up to 2018’s Holy Hell. Architects still deftly wield heavy riffs and commanding choruses with ease, but also step confidently into the realm of arena rock.

“Dead Butterflies” and “Meteor” dial back the visceral vocals longtime fans might expect from the band, but stop short of removing all traces of Architects’ raw sonics. Heavier moments are found on “Libertine” and “Impermanence,” with the latter track featuring Parkway Drive’s Winston McCall. Architects are also joined on their new album by Royal Blood’s Mike Kerr and Biffy Clyro’s Simon Neil.


Architects’ overriding concern on For Those That Wish to Exist is for the apathetic position many people around the world hold in response towards climate change. “Some of the album is also saying, ‘Don’t let perfection be the enemy of good,’” drummer Dan Searle told NME. “We do have this culture online of shooting people down for having a try but not being perfect, and that discourages any action. If someone says to me, ‘I stopped eating meat five days a week,’ I’m not going to have a go at them for still eating meat.”

Listen to For Those That Wish to Exist below:

Don't miss