Vijay Iyer Trio release new album ‘Uneasy’

Led by impassioned single “Children of Flint.”

The trio, consisting of pianist Iyer, double bassist Linda May Han Oh and drummer Tyshawn Sorey, have offered a suite of considered compositions on Uneasy that showcase their natural chemistry.

“I think we’ve always had a wide range of energies we can explore when we play together,” Iyer said of his current trio formation in a statement. “It’s not just about the form or about executing things with an agenda to impress anybody. Sometimes it’s just about tapping into some kind of intuitive space and try to find something beneath the surface that animates or propels.”

The project has been a long time in the making: the group first met in 2014, and Uneasy encompasses compositions written by Iyer over the last 20 years. According to the pianist, the initial idea for Uneasy came ten years ago in the wake of 9/11 amidst the optimism that surrounded Obama’s presidency.


On the road to Uneasy’s release, the trio shared “Children of Flint.” The single was written as a response to the horrific poisoning of the children residing in Flint, Michigan from 2014 to 2019. Thousands of residents were exposed to unsafe levels of lead in the drinking water, leading to increased risk of Alzheimer’s disease, learning disabilities and chronic illnesses. To help support the affected children, Iyer donated money to the Flint Kids Fund and asked fans to follow his lead.

Listen to Uneasy here:

Don't miss