Hear Dr Lonnie Smith’s new album, ‘Breathe’

Bookended by collaborations with Iggy Pop.

Dr Lonnie Smith, acclaimed for his mastery of the Hammond B-3 organ, has released his new album Breathe.

It marks Smith’s first album for Blue Note since 2016, when he returned to the label he had made his name at in the ’60s. Six of the eight songs on Breathe were recorded live during a run of gigs staged to celebrate Smith’s 75th birthday in 2017. The album features Smith with his trio of guitarist Jonathan Kreisberg and drummer Johnathan Blake, as well as in the expanded septet format.

The two studio-recorded tracks on Breathe are covers notably featuring punk icon Iggy Pop: on opening track “Why Can’t We Live Together,” originally by Timmy Thomas, and closer “Sunshine Superman,” their take on a Donovan classic.


“I like the way he sounded,” Smith told the New York Times of Iggy’s performances on Breathe. “Natural. You know when people try to overdo it? Again? You don’t have to do that. He just did what he did.”

Listen to Breathe below:

Don't miss