Carlos Niño & Friends announce new album, ‘More Energy Fields, Current’

Hear the single “Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please…” featuring Jamael Dean.

Carlos Niño has announced his new album More Energy Fields, Current with the release of its lead single, “Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please…” featuring Jamael Dean.

Niño’s explorative new single instantly exudes an hypnotic charm through its twinkling keys. Sleepy wind instruments wander throughout “Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please…” as Dean’s keys push the composition forward.

“‘Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please’ came from an idea Carlos asked me to play, at one of his concerts,” Dean recounted in a statement. “I played it again over the track he sent me, when I went back to New York because of college. I remember talking to Carlos about all the misconceptions about the history of music and the importance of proper education.”


In a statement, Niño explained that “Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please…” serves as a call for everyone to live in a more present and united state of existence. According to the Californian multi-instrumentalist, his wish for a harmonious society was the thematic foundation of More Energy Fields, Current.

Besides Dean, many other musos play on the upcoming Carlos Niño & Friends album, including Shabaka Hutchings, Nate Mercereau, Sam Gendel, Jamire Williams, Laraaji, and more.

More Energy Fields, Current will arrive on May 7 via International Anthem. Listen to “Pleasewakeupalittlefaster, please…” below:


Don't miss