Ambrose Akinmusire announces new album with “Mr Roscoe”

The follow-up to 2018’s ‘Origami Harvest’ is on the way.

Trumpeter and composer Ambrose Akinmusire has announced a new album via the release of its lead single, “Mr Roscoe (consider the simultaneous).”

Climbing brass, urgent snare raps and soft keys mingle on the track, which is the first taste of On the Tender Spot of Every Calloused Moment. The song’s title references 2020 NEA Jazz Master and Art Ensemble of Chicago member Roscoe Mitchell, who has played with Akinmusire in duo and quartet settings.

Akinmusire recorded On the Tender Spot of Every Calloused Moment in a quartet with his longtime bandmates: pianist Sam Harris, bassist Harish Raghavan and drummer Justin Brown. His last album Origami Harvest, which arrived in 2018, netted him rave reviews from critics across the world.


Akinmusire told NPR that his new record is in some ways a blues album, partially thanks to conversations he has had with veteran saxophonist Archie Shepp.

“We’ve had conversations where I ask Archie: What is the blues?” Akinmusire said. “What does that mean in 2020? Like, my blues as Ambrose Akinmusire shouldn’t sound the same as Archie’s blues, and that shouldn’t sound the same as Bobby Bland or BB King.”

“That’s what this album to me is trying to figure out,” he said. “I’m trying to really put [the feeling of blues] in my music, in the same way as these masters.”


On the Tender Spot of Every Calloused Moment is slated for release on June 5 via Blue Note Records. Listen to “Mr Roscoe (consider the simultaneous)” here:

Don't miss