Noname announces new album with “Rainforest”

‘Factory Baby’ is coming.

Noname has announced her new album, Factory Baby, with its first single “Rainforest.”

Produced by The Kount, the track features additional vocals from frequent collaborator Adam Ness. Over a slinky soul-inspired beat, Noname wonders “How you get closer to love?” and “How you lemonade all your sadness when you openin’ up?” She later takes a wry jab at capitalism and those who “make excuses for billionaires.”

“Dyin’ on stolen land for a dollar like that ain’t fucked up / It’s fuck they money, I’mma say it every song / Until the revolution come and all the feds start runnin’,” she spits.


“Rainforest” marks Noname’s first release since last year’s “Song 33,” on which she addressed her feud with J Cole. The Chicago rapper had released the Madlib-produced track in response to Cole’s “Snow on tha Bluff,” which many speculated sent veiled shots at Noname’s activism. However, she has since apologized for dissing Cole, saying she was “not proud” of the move.

Factory Baby, the follow-up to her 2018 album Room 25, is expected to arrive later this year. In the meantime, listen to “Rainforest” below:

Don't miss