Lupe Fiasco surprises with new album drop, ‘Drogas Wave’

The sprawling LP arrives a week before its official release date.

Good news for those on the edge of their seats in anticipation of Lupe Fiasco’s seventh studio album: Drogas Wave has arrived, a week in advance of its official release date.

The 24-track record stretches to almost 100 minutes, opting for a meandering flow that skips from old-school East Coast jams to alt-R&B to even classical composition. No big-name features here, but soul singer-songwriter Nikki Jean, genre-bending musician Troi Irons, and heir to the reggae throne Damian Marley make appearances.

Lu’s own conscious lyricism shines through the assorted production styles. His verses tell the story of “a group of slaves that jumped off of a slave ship transporting them from Africa,” the Chicago wordsmith said in a statement. “The slaves did not drown, and instead somehow managed to live under the sea. They spent the rest of their underwater existence sinking slave ships.”


Drogas Wave follows 2017’s Drogas Light, and is the second part of a planned trilogy of albums.

Listen to Drogas Wave here:

Don't miss