Flee Lord releases new tribute album, ‘In the Name of Prodigy’

Paying homage to late mentor and Mobb Deep co-founder, Prodigy.

Flee Lord has shared his latest album In the Name of Prodigy, dedicated to his eponymous late mentor and co-founder of legendary hip hop duo Mobb Deep.

The fiery ten-track record was produced entirely by Havoc, who formed Mobb Deep alongside Prodigy, and boasts appearances by Conway the Machine, Busta Rhymes and more. Hard-hitting opener “In the Name of P Intro” sets the mood for the rest of the album with Flee Lord’s explosive, spoken word-esque tribute to Prodigy, who passed away in 2017. “We gon’ send you off proper, GOAT. I promise I’mma carry the torch. I brought legends with me! Let’s go Hav,” he spits on the intro.

Elsewhere, Flee Lord trades angry lines with Busta and Raekwon on “Major Distribution” and “Wu-Lords” respectively. The album’s energy reaches its peak on impassioned elegy “All for the Goat” featuring Conway, while producer Havoc jumps in on strident closer “Bound to Take Losses.”


This latest offering caps off a busy year for Flee Lord, who had released a total of 12 projects in 2020. In the Name of Prodigy follows the release of September’s Lord Talk Trilogy, plus appearances on Conway the Machine’s “Juvenile Hell” and Westside Gunn’s “Frank Murphy.”

Stream In the Name of Prodigy below:

Don't miss