The Avalanches drop new songs with Jamie xx, Neneh Cherry and more

Hear “Wherever You Go” and “Reflecting Light” now.

The Avalanches continue to tease an upcoming album with two star-studded new songs: “Wherever You Go” and “Reflecting Light.”

Neneh Cherry and CLYPSO sing on “Wherever You Go,” which was co-produced by Jamie xx. On the other hand, “Reflecting Light” features Sananda Maitreya and samples Vashti Bunyan’s 1970 song “Glow Worms.” The new tracks follow previously released collaborations with Rivers Cuomo, Pink Siifu and Blood Orange.

The Avalanches supplied enigmatic statements for both songs. Of “Wherever You Go,” which samples The Voyager Golden Record, they wrote: “Why do we send music to the stars? Is it because we want our voices to live forever? How else should we become pure spirits, singing forever in the dark?”


As for “Reflecting Light,” they wrote, “What are these sounds that haunt our lives… floating in the static and the noise all around us, just beyond our grasp? Are they radio waves, hallucinations? Voices from the past?”

The Avalanches’ new run of tracks offers fans a peek into the follow-up to their 2016 comeback album Wildflower. No title or release date has been set for the new album. While you wait for more details, listen to “Wherever You Go” and “Reflecting Light” here:

Don't miss