Richie Hawtin returns to the dancefloor with new ‘Time Warps’ EP

Two songs and a 35-minute runtime.

Richie Hawtin has dropped a new two-track EP, Time Warps.

Hawtin’s new double-bill marks the producer’s return to powerful dancefloor anthems for the first time since his 1999 EP Minus Orange. Though it only comprises two songs—“Time Warps” and “Time Stands Still”—the project delivers 35 minutes of slowly evolving electronic brilliance. The EP’s title track delivers a hypnotic dance beat that slowly builds into a psychedelic experience, whereas “Time Stands Still” inverts that progression with urgent synth waves and sporadic percussive stutters.

The EP was inspired by the producer’s perspective on time changing after he was forced to take time off from touring due to the COVID-19 pandemic. As he explained in a tweet, “time [then] opened up in a unique way. This time of reflection and refraction became the basis of a different approach and the beginning of something new.”


Time Warps is the first release under From Our Minds, a new extension of Hawtin’s Plus 8 label. Listen to the EP here:

Don't miss