Madlib, Four Tet release hypnotic new song, “Hopprock”

The pair are gearing up for the release of ‘Sound Ancestors’ this month.

Madlib and Four Tet have shared “Hopprock,” the latest track to be cut from their forthcoming collaborative album Sound Ancestors.

The winding track opens with twinkling bells, warm percussion and low strings—all signatures of Four Tet’s more ambient material. It then transitions into a voicemail recording over chopped, sampled vocals, a shuffling beat and guitar riffs.

In a statement, Four Tet explained how he came to work with Madlib on the album. “He is always making loads of music in all sorts of styles and I was listening to some of his new beats and studio sessions when I had the idea that it would be great to hear some of these ideas made into a Madlib solo album,” the producer, real name Kieran Hebden, said.


“Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish.”

Sound Ancestors, which also features the track “Road of the Lonely Ones,” will be Madlib’s first release since his 2020 album with his brother Oh No as the duo The Professionals. Four Tet, on the other hand, dropped not one but two albums before the turn of the new year: Parallel and 871.

No official release date for Sound Ancestors has been announced just yet, but the album is expected to arrive at some point this month. Listen to “Hopprock” below:


Don't miss