Leon Vynehall announces ‘Rare, Forever’ album with two new songs

Hear “Mothra” and “Ecce! Ego!” now.

Leon Vynehall has announced his forthcoming album Rare, Forever, with the new tracks “Mothra” and “Ecce! Ego!”.

The adventurous “Mothra” layers thick synths before Vynehall throws a curveball, turning it into a warped dance track. On the other hand, “Ecce! Ego!” serves dramatic strings and affected orchestral recordings over a stilted beat. According to the British producer, the latter serves as a peek into his psyche.

“The track’s title literally translates from Latin to ‘Behold! Me!’,” Vynehall shared in a statement. “It starts off where [2018 album] Nothing is Still left off, but rapidly switches to something more fluid, perhaps even sinister. I kind of think of this song as ‘Envelopes (Chapter VI)’’s fucked up cousin.”


Rare, Forever, due out April 30 via Ninja Tune, will be Vynehall’s first LP to follow his 2018 debut Nothing is Still. Besides working on the new record, Vynehall recently set up Studio Ooze, a new recording space to allow for more collaborations. The producer has worked with KAM-BU, Wesley Joseph and Jeshi with more tracks expected in the near future. In 2019, he was also tapped for a DJ-Kicks mix.

Listen to “Mothra” and “Ecce! Ego!” below:

Don't miss