Illenium releases third studio album, ‘Ascend’

Best consumed in a single sitting.

American producer Illenium has released his third studio album, Ascend.

The 17-track album arrives two years after Illenium’s sophomore record, Awake. It features Foy Vance, X Ambassadors, The Chainsmokers, Said the Sky and other stellar acts.

Setting aside the introductory snippet and prelude, “Take You Down” is the only track without a feature. That’s because the song grapples with Illenium’s struggles with addiction, as he explained in a note last August:


The hour-long album is not an insubstantial release, and according to the DJ himself, is worth absorbing in a single sitting. “Try not to skip to songs ur interested in the most,” he wrote on Twitter. “Gonna be hard I knowww. But I think it’s gonna be worth it.”

Listen to Ascend here:


Don't miss