Diplo taps Jonas Brothers, Young Thug for new country album

‘Diplo Presents Thomas Wesley Chapter 1: Snake Oil’ is out now.

Diplo has taken a left-turn into country with his brand-new album, Diplo Presents Thomas Wesley Chapter 1: Snake Oil.

The hitmaker—real name Thomas Wesley Pentz—has been teasing this new direction since the April 2019 release of “So Long,” featuring Cam (whose music video featured cameos from Lil Nas X and Guy Fieri). He then remixed Nas X’s breakout hit “Old Town Road,” which closes the new album, and followed up with the single “Lonely” featuring the Jonas Brothers.

Snake Oil features other familiar faces from the rap and pop worlds such as Young Thug and Noah Cyrus, but its guestlist is dominated by country artists. Orville Peck, Thomas Rhett and Zac Brown are just a few musicians who appear on the record.


The full title of Snake Oil hints Diplo might have more country music in the works, but no news of a sophomore release has been shared just yet. This Thomas Wesley project joins the producer’s extensive list of projects that includes Major Lazer, Jack Ü with Skrillex, Silk City with Mark Ronson and LSD alongside Sia and Labrinth.

Diplo has been most recently active with Major Lazer, remixing Megan Thee Stallion’s hit song “Savage,” The Weeknd’s “Blinding Lights” as well as collaborating with Marcus Mumford.

Stream Snake Oil here:


Don't miss