Daniel Avery, Alessandro Cortini team up for “Illusion of Time”

    The title track from their forthcoming joint album.

    Daniel Avery Alessandro Cortini Illusion of Time
    Daniel Avery. Image: Steve Gullick / Liaison Artists

    DJ Daniel Avery and Nine Inch Nails keyboardist Alessandro Cortini have linked up for a new song titled “Illusion of Time.”

    The laid-back, lo-fi instrumental track arrived alongside a glitchy visual which features human-like figures. “The video embodies the volatility and hidden nature of the music’s subject and meaning,” Cortini said in a press statement. “A meaning that is ultimately personal and unique to the listener/spectator.”

    “Illusion of Time” is the first taste and title track of the duo’s forthcoming joint album. “It was very much a shared process,” Avery said of the album in a press release. “Some of the tracks were borne simply out of a tiny synth part, or a bit of tape hiss that we had recorded. And that approach taught me a lot. It’s a record that’s been worked on hard, but not labored over.”

    Back in 2017, the pair released the joint EP Sun Draw Water. Avery subsequently went on tour with Nine Inch Nails in 2018. Illusion of Time arrives March 27.

    Watch the video for “Illusion of Time” here: