Josh Turner is in a ‘Country State of Mind’ on new album

The LP features Runaway June, Kris Kristofferson and more.

Josh Turner has returned with a brand-new album, Country State of Mind.

For the 12-track record, the country singer re-recorded some of his favorite classic songs, such as the title track “Country State of Mind” by Hank Williams, with some help from his musical friends and idols. They include Kris Kristofferson, on a new version of his 1973 signature “Why Me,” as well as contemporaries Junaway June, Maddie & Tae and Allison Moorer.

“This record did not start out as being a collaboration project,” Turner told Music Row. “It was going to strictly just be me doing the classics, but it quickly turned into me bringing in these guests and it just made sense, so it’s a covers record and duet record.”


Country State of Mind is the follow-up to his 2018 gospel record, I Serve a Savior. Stream his new album below:

Don't miss